Key takeaways
- Plan in megawatts per building first, then square feet: Abilene’s first two buildings totaled about 980,000 square feet for more than 200 MW of IT load.1
- Most data centers are one or two stories; Ashburn’s early inventory was almost entirely one- and two-story buildings, though taller designs are growing where land is scarce.56
- A data center story is tall, about 35 feet in one Virginia town’s analysis, so a 50-foot height cap can effectively mean one story.7
- Recent ordinances show the spread: South Whitehall Township, Pennsylvania, caps building coverage at 50% and impervious coverage at 75%, while a 2026 draft ordinance in Watts Township sets 40% and 50%.38
- On large greenfield campuses, setbacks, stormwater, substations and equipment yards usually limit coverage before floor area ratio does; Microsoft’s Mount Pleasant plan works out to roughly 0.15 FAR.910
01Footprint, coverage and floor area: the terms that matter
Zoning codes use several overlapping measures of how much building a lot can hold. They are easy to confuse, and each constrains a data center differently:
- Building footprint: the ground area under the building’s exterior walls. Some data center districts cap it directly; South Whitehall Township, Pennsylvania, limits any one building footprint to 150,000 square feet.3
- Building (lot) coverage: footprint as a percentage of lot area, including accessory structures in many codes.3
- Impervious coverage: everything that sheds water, including roofs, roads, parking, equipment pads and paved yards. It is usually the tighter limit for a data center, because generator and cooling yards are paved.38
- Floor area ratio (FAR): total floor area across all stories divided by lot area. A two-story, 200,000-square-foot building on a 10-acre lot has a FAR of about 0.46.
- Height: measured in feet, stories or both, and sometimes separately for principal and accessory structures.311
None of these measures says anything about power, which is what actually sizes a data center. Floor area inside the building divides into data halls for racks and support space for electrical rooms, mechanical plant, loading and offices, and the ratio between them shifts with rack density. That is why developers start from critical IT load, work out how many buildings carry it, and only then test the result against coverage, impervious and height limits.
Coverage limits apply to the lot, but the usable lot is smaller than the deed. Our guide to gross vs. buildable acreage explains how floodplain, wetlands, easements and setbacks shrink the area these percentages are applied to, depending on how the local code defines lot area.
02How many megawatts fit in one building
Public project records give a useful sense of scale. They vary because density, cooling and the split between IT and support space vary, so treat them as reference points rather than rules.
| Project | Buildings | Building area | Power |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abilene, Texas (Crusoe, phase 1) | 2 | About 980,000 sq ft total | 200 MW+ of IT1 |
| Abilene, Texas (full campus) | 8 | About 4 million sq ft | About 1.2 GW1 |
| Village Place, Prince William County, Virginia | 4, two-story | 114,330–132,750 sq ft each | About 210 MW total2 |
| Project Spalding, Georgia (proposed) | 3, two-story | Nearly 2.6 million sq ft facility | Not reported12 |
| Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin, Durand Ave. (Microsoft) | 9 | About 5.2 million sq ft | Not reported910 |
Two patterns stand out. First, AI campuses are building very large single buildings, on the order of 490,000 square feet each at Abilene, because each building is a repeatable block of power and cooling.1 Second, smaller suburban sites reach meaningful capacity by going to two stories on a modest footprint, as in Prince William County, where four buildings of roughly 115,000–133,000 square feet are planned for about 210 MW.2
As rack densities climb, the same megawatts need less data hall floor area, but electrical and cooling equipment do not shrink in proportion. The result is that the building footprint per megawatt falls while the equipment yard per megawatt stays large. Our guides to rack density trends and cooling plant and equipment yard space cover that side of the site.
03Single-story vs. multi-story data centers
Most U.S. data centers are low and wide. In a 2017 report, Data Center Frontier said Ashburn, Virginia, held about 5 million square feet of data center space, almost entirely in one- or two-story facilities, even as leading developers began building multi-story designs to add vertical capacity.5 Loudoun County’s economic development director later said that “anywhere between three to five stories probably makes a lot of sense.”6
Height is expensive in a data center because each story is tall. When the Town of Leesburg, Virginia, considered raising the maximum height in its I-1 industrial district from 50 feet to 65 feet, the town noted that a data center story measures about 35 feet, compared with 12–15 feet for an office floor.7 Under a 50-foot cap, a second data center floor may not fit at all.
Going vertical trades land for complexity. Industry panelists have described the economics of vertical construction as complicated, with developers weighing effects on both cost and delivery schedule, and with the case strongest where land for data center development is scarce.13
Fig. 1Single-story vs. multi-story data centers
Most common
Single or two-story
- Simplest structure and fastest to build
- Ground-level or roof equipment, easy heavy lifts
- Needs more acres per MW
- Fits under typical 40–50 ft height caps
Land-constrained markets
Three or more stories
- More MW per acre of land
- Each story about 35 ft, so needs 65–80 ft+ limits
- Heavier structure and vertical risers for power and water
- Less roof area per MW for cooling equipment
04Coverage and height limits in recent data center ordinances
Many communities have recently written data center districts or overlays, and the dimensional standards vary widely. The examples below are from township and county documents; several are proposals, so check whether they were adopted and whether they have since been amended.
| Jurisdiction | Status | Building coverage | Impervious coverage | Height |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Whitehall Twp., PA | Adopted Oct. 15, 2025 | 50% | 75% | 40 ft principal3 |
| Watts Twp., PA | Draft dated May 26, 2026 | 40% | 50% | 45 ft8 |
| Pittston Twp., PA | Proposed, Dec. 2025 | 55% combined with impervious | 55% combined | 3 stories or 75 ft14 |
| Henry County, VA | Approved, Aug. 2026 | Not reported | Not reported | 75 ft; taller by special use permit4 |
Fig. 2Maximum data center building heights, selected codes
- South Whitehall Twp., PA40
- Watts Twp., PA45
- Leesburg, VA (I-1, before change)50
- Henry County, VA75
- Pittston Twp., PA (proposed)75
- Prince William, VA (one proffer)80
feet
Minimum lot sizes often come with these limits: South Whitehall requires 10 acres and 200 feet of lot width, and Watts Township 20 acres.38 Heights also interact with airspace, since a tall building near an airport may need FAA review; see FAA airspace and height limits. For how districts and overlays are drafted, see data center zoning ordinances and overlay districts.
05Floor area ratio in practice
FAR matters most in suburban and infill markets, where land is expensive and buildings are dense. Loudoun County, Virginia, expanded where data centers are permitted and increased both the building height allowance and the FAR in its PD-IP (planned development, industrial park) district.15 Individual projects still seek more: one Sterling application asked to raise density from 0.6 to 1.0 FAR along with modifications to building height and setbacks.16
On large greenfield campuses FAR is rarely the binding limit. Microsoft’s Mount Pleasant expansion proposed about 5.2 million square feet on a 791-acre parcel on Durand Avenue and more than 3.5 million square feet on about 530 acres at International Drive, with three new substations across the two sites.910 By our arithmetic that is a FAR of roughly 0.15 on both sites, far below what most industrial codes allow.
Fig. 3Mount Pleasant expansion, by the numbers
- data center buildings approved
- 15
- building space across two campuses
- ≈9M sq ft
- combined parcel area
- ≈1,320 acres
- implied floor area ratio
- ≈0.15
What uses the rest of the land is everything around the buildings: setbacks and landscaped buffers, stormwater ponds, substations, generator and cooling yards, ring roads and parking. Our guides to campus master planning and stormwater management cover that layout, and how much land a data center needs translates it into acres per megawatt.
06How to test whether a building program fits
A quick fit test can rule a parcel in or out before anyone pays for engineering. Work through it in this order:
- 01Set the program in megawatts of IT load and the number of buildings, using reference projects of similar density.12
- 02Convert to building footprint, assuming one or two stories unless land cost and height limits support more.57
- 03Add equipment yards, substation, roads, parking and stormwater, which together often exceed the building footprint on the impervious side.
- 04Apply the local building coverage, impervious coverage, height and minimum lot rules to the buildable lot area, not the deeded acreage.38
- 05Check whether the district allows more by special exception, proffer or overlay, and how long that adds to the schedule.416
If the program fails on impervious coverage, the usual fixes are taller buildings, rooftop equipment, structured parking or more land. If it fails on height, the fix is more footprint, which pushes back on coverage. Our tools can help with a first pass, and if you want an outside read on what a parcel can hold, you can get a site reviewed. Confirm any final layout with the local zoning administrator and a civil engineer.
Common questions
How big is a typical data center building?
Recent projects range from about 115,000–133,000 square feet per building on suburban two-story designs to roughly 490,000 square feet per building on AI campuses such as Abilene, Texas.21 Size follows the power and cooling block the developer repeats, not a standard.
How many stories are data centers?
Most are one or two stories.5 Multi-story buildings of three or more stories appear in land-constrained markets such as Northern Virginia and Silicon Valley,56 and each story can be about 35 feet tall.7
What lot coverage do data center ordinances allow?
It varies widely. South Whitehall Township, Pennsylvania, allows 50% building coverage and 75% impervious coverage, while Watts Township’s 2026 draft ordinance sets 40% and 50%.38 Check the current code for the specific district.
What is a typical floor area ratio for a data center?
On large rural campuses it is often low; Microsoft’s Mount Pleasant plans work out to about 0.15.9 In dense suburban markets projects seek higher ratios, such as one Loudoun County application to raise FAR from 0.6 to 1.0.16
Do equipment yards count toward lot coverage?
Paved yards and pads almost always count toward impervious coverage, and accessory structures often count toward building coverage, depending on how the code defines each term.3 Read the definitions section of the local ordinance before running numbers.
Notes
- 1.Data Center Dynamics, “Crusoe tops out final building at OpenAI Stargate data center campus in Abilene, Texas,” 2025. datacenterdynamics.com
- 2.Data Center Dynamics, “Data center campus gets rezoning approval in Prince William County, Virginia,” n.d. datacenterdynamics.com
- 3.South Whitehall Township, “Data center zoning ordinance (Planned Innovation, Research, and Technology overlay district),” 2025. southwhitehall.com
- 4.Cardinal News, “Stricter data center regulations approved in Henry County,” 2026. cardinalnews.org
- 5.Data Center Frontier, “Taller Data Centers Come to Ashburn, Santa Clara,” 2017. datacenterfrontier.com
- 6.Bisnow, “Multistory Data Centers On The Rise In Dense Markets,” 2021. bisnow.com
- 7.Loudoun Now, “Leesburg plans to raise height limitations for data centers,” 2023. loudounnow.com
- 8.Watts Township, “Watts Ordinance for Data Center (draft, May 26, 2026),” 2026. wattstownship.org
- 9.Civic Media, “Mount Pleasant board approves plans for 15 new Microsoft data centers,” 2026. civicmedia.us
- 10.Wisconsin Public Radio, “Microsoft wants 15 more data centers in Mount Pleasant,” 2026. wpr.org
- 11.Prince William County, “REZ2023-00001,” n.d. eservice.pwcgov.org
- 12.WSB-TV, “Spalding County commissioners hold hearing on data center development,” n.d. wsbtv.com
- 13.Data Center Frontier, “Vertical Data Centers: ‘Watts Per Acre’ Guides Construction Economics,” n.d. datacenterfrontier.com
- 14.Pittston Township, “Pittston Twp Proposed Data Center Ordinance,” 2025. pittstontownship.org
- 15.Bisnow, “Loudoun County Data Centers Surge,” n.d. bisnow.com
- 16.Patch, “2 data center applications head to Loudoun Board of Supervisors,” n.d. patch.com
Have a site in mind?
Get a straight answer on your land.
Send a parcel number, an address, a map pin or a target load. We’ll tell you what it can support and what it would take.
This guide is general information about data center site selection. It is not engineering, legal, tax or investment advice. Requirements vary by state, utility and county, so confirm the specifics for any site with the relevant authorities and advisors.
Related guides
More in Campus design & construction
- Data Center Tier Levels Explained: Uptime Tiers, TIA-942 Ratings and Redundancy
- PUE Explained: Data Center Power Usage Effectiveness, Averages and Climate
- Data Center Backup Generators: How Many, What Size, and How Much Fuel
- Water Usage Effectiveness (WUE): How Data Center Water Use Is Measured
- UPS and Electrical Distribution in Data Centers: Medium Voltage, UPS Types and Redundancy
- How Long Does It Take to Build a Data Center? Design, Permitting and Construction Phases
- Data Center Physical Security and Perimeter Design: Setbacks, Fencing and Crash-Rated Barriers
- Data Center Rack Density Trends: Average kW per Rack From 2011 to AI Racks
